Society for Music Theory

Music Theory Online is one of the flagship journals of the Society for Music Theory. It is a peer-reviewed open-access electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines. MTO has been in continuous publication since 1993. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and conference reports. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.

Current Issue: Volume 26.2, featuring articles, reviews, and commentaries by:

  • Kyle Adams
  • Gurminder K. Bhogal
  • Ragnhild Brøvig-Hanssen, Bjørnar E. Sandvik, and Jon Marius Aareskjold-Drecker
  • Philip A. Ewell
  • Jonathan Guez
  • Kyle Hutchinson
  • Noah Kahrs
  • Ji Yeon Lee
  • Joshua Banks Mailman
  • Judith Ofcarcik
  • Gilad Rabinovitch
  • Brent Yorgason and Jeff Lyon

: René Rusch (University of Michigan)
: Brad Osborn (The University of Kansas), Mitchell Ohriner (University of Denver), Jonathan Guez (The College of Wooster), and Trevor de Clercq (Middle Tennessee State University) (Interim)
: David Heetderks (University of North Texas) and Bryan Parkhurst (Oberlin College)
: Brent Yorgason (Brigham Young University)
MTO Editorial Board