Figure 1. Intervallic makeup of the whole tone and the diatonic semitone in Vicentino’s 31-tone system. The whole tone is divided notionally into five minor enharmonic dieses and the diatonic semitone into three. Alternative spellings for pitches usually notated with an enharmonic dot are shown beneath the line diagrams. Vicentino’s names for various subspans of the tone appear at bottom left; the interval of two minor dieses is interpreted either as a minor semitone or as a major enharmonic diesis, depending on its context.