Society for Music Theory

Music Theory Online is one of the flagship journals of the Society for Music Theory. It is a peer-reviewed open-access electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines. MTO has been in continuous publication since 1993. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and conference reports. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.

Current Issue: Volume 30.2, featuring articles, reviews, and commentaries by:

    Matthew L. C. Boyle and Paul Sherrill
  • James Donaldson
  • David Geary
  • Jacob Gran
  • Christoph Neidhöfer
  • Eron Smith
  • Simon Tönies

: Brent Auerbach (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
: Zachary Bernstein (Eastman School of Music), Nancy Murphy (University of Michigan), Drew Nobile (University of Oregon), and William O'Hara (Gettysburg College)
: Clare Sher Ling Eng (Belmont University) and Kara Yoo Leaman (Mannes School of Music)
: Brent Yorgason (Brigham Young University)
MTO Editorial Board